NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo


Bunbury hard charger Mick Hamon won the 2014-15 WA Production Sedan Title after going through the Easter weekend undefeated to hold off a quality field of drivers at Albany's Attwell Park Speedway.

Hamon was successful in all four of his preliminary heat races to qualify for the championship final on the front row alongside Kyle Sayer.

Despite a number of gallant challenges from Sayer in the first half of the race, Hamon was cool under pressure and led every lap in the title decider to go on and record a deserving victory over Sayer and the impressive Tim Green.

Hamon crossed the line 0.297 seconds in front, winning his first State title since he won the WA junior crown back 1992-93 and goes alongside his two national street stock titles.

"We had a few power-steering problems on the first night and we broke a fuel pump but we were able to finish our heats," Hamon said.

 "We went pretty well over the weekend.

"I didn't expect to win it; I have only raced four or five meetings in productions this season and WA has probably got the best of the best in productions."

After his State title win Hamon now has his sights set on the Australian Production Sedan Title in Dubbo later this month.

Mick Hamon races to victory in the WA Production Sedan Title. Picture: Jody Shanhun

Rod Musarra finished fourth to cap off a consistent weekend and visiting Australian champion Tim Atkin crossed the line in fifth place in his first visit to Attwell Park.

Former Albany resident Nathan Penn, Jake Blight, Sandy McPherson, Barry Rose and Kane McDiarmid rounded out the top ten with Rose's charge the most impressive after transferring from the B-main.

In controversial circumstances B-main winner Frank Does was disqualified from the 35-lap final before a lap was run after his car failed to meet technical specifications.

Defending WA champion Glenn Hoskins was starting to move his way through the field and had got into sixth position midway through the journey when he lost a wheel and was forced to retire from the event.

Earlier in the event local driver Mike Kinnear won the C-main from veteran Garry Sutton while Does downed Ashley Page, Rose and John Tarandetti with all four qualifying for the A-main.

The heat racing over both Saturday and Sunday night was terrific with multiple lanes and entertaining side-by-side racing on show throughout.

Rod Musarra in action at Attwell Park. Picture: Jody Shanhun

Full results from the WA Production Sedan Title can be found on this link

Albany Speedway Club would like to congratulate all competitors and officials who took part and also thank our valued sponsors, fans and volunteers.