NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo


FOLLOWING the success of hosting a round of World Series Sprintcars last season the Albany Speedway Club has been announced as a venue that will host a round of the upcoming 2012-2013 series.

The news comes as a major boost for the Albany Speedway Club who held a round of the series for the very first time in February this year.

The decision by WSS management to bring the series back to Albany is a massive coup for the local club, who attracted more than 4000 people to last year’s event.

WSS significantly shortened their schedule this season, which comprises of just 12 rounds, the Western Swing of the series will visit Manjimup, Albany, Bunbury and Perth spanning three weeks.

The news came in conjunction with the Albany Speedway Club announcing their racing calendar for the 2012-2013 season, which comprises of eight meetings including two-night events for the 2012-2013 WA Modified Sedan title and the annual Bill Gibbings Memorial for Super Sedans.

Albany’s bursting calendar begins on November 17 with the annual Noel Pearson Memorial and a brand new 4-Cylinder Demolition Derby.

Rounds of the Production Sedan 10,000 series, the Super Sedan Summer series and the JSRA series will also be held at AttwellPark in another bumper season.

WSS will be held on Saturday, February 9, 2013, and will be supported by the popular GWN7 Modified Sedan series while the final meeting of the season on April 20, 2013, will involve the regular Demolition Derby and the return of the historic Southern 100 for Production Sedans.

Club president Kevin Theyer, who was re-appointed at the recent Annual General Meeting, said the club had once again assembled a quality calendar to provide the best possible racing for fans.

In a further boost, the Albany Speedway Club received a $2,500 grant from Speedway Australia’s QBE Risk Management Track Grant Scheme in June.

The money will be used to upgrade grandstands around the venue and help facilitate the large crowds expected at the club’s major events.

Modified driver Graeme McSweeney was named the 2011-2012 senior fairest and best driver back in June at the club's presentation night while teenager Jordan McDonald won the junior fairest and best award, Street Stock competitor Clint Udecz was awarded the Club Champion trophy for the highest points scorer driver across all divisions.

Cameron Newbold