NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo


Albany Speedway Club have crowned their newest Open Club Champions in six different divisions on Saturday night after some superb racing throughout the blue ribbon event.

There was no division more impressive than the modified sedans action with former State champion Aydan Trewern and young gun Blake Watson involved in a titanic battle in their 10-lap feature race.

The race was one of the best modified sedan races ever witnessed in Albany, and that is saying something considering the venue has held five national titles and five State titles in the same division in their history.

Watson started on the front row of the final alongside Sean Theyer but it didn’t take Trewern long to come from fourth place to quickly join Watson at the front.

The pair then went about racing side by side and trading places in the lead for the next eight laps at a fierce pace.

Watson would poke the nose of his car in front coming onto the home straight and by turn one Trewern had pinched it back.

This epic battle went on lap after lap to thrill the onlooking spectators before the more experienced Trewern, who stuck to the bottom line, made the move stick inside the final two circuits.

Watson threw everything he had at Trewern in the dying stages but their enthralling battle earlier on was simply champagne stuff.

Trewern held on by 0.708 seconds on the line with Watson second across the line and a very fast Theyer, who was resigned to watching the pair in front of him dice for the lead, in third place.

Trewern set the quickest lap in the feature with a 17.890 second circuit in the multiple lane track.

The small field of six cars put on terrific racing across the entire night with Theyer defeating Neville Mansted in heat one and then Trewern dominating the second heat to down Watson.

Watson bounced back in the third heat to edge out Trewern by 0.728 seconds.

In a thrilling end to the club championship Trewern edged out Watson by a mere two points with Theyer in third place.

Blake Watson (2nd), Aydan Trewern (1st), Sean Theyer (3rd)

With an impressive field of drivers assembled in the formula 125s, State champion Braiden Jewell had plenty of opposition in his quest for the club championship title.

Visiting driver Darren Cartwright was in superb form with two heat wins and success in the 10-lap feature race to hold off Bill Beeck (second) and Jewell (third) in the club championship.

Bill Beeck (2nd), Darren Cartwright (1st), Braiden Jewell (3rd)

The street stocks club championship was dominated by local driver Paul Bowman, who showed plenty of pace in his machine on his way to winning all three heats and the 10-lap final.

Bowman’s impressive undefeated night saw him down Freddy Kinsella and Leon Langdon in the club championship honours.

Freddy Kinsella (2nd - absent), Paul Bowman (1st), Leon Langdon (3rd)

A healthy field of junior sedans also took to Attwell Park with Mitchell Claybrook showing great improvement on his way to victory in two preliminary races and the final.

Brooke Watson also performed strongly to win heat three and was second in the feature.

Claybrook won the club championship title from Watson and Lincoln Coleman.

Nathan Penn was very strong in the production sedans division, losing only one heat race to the fast Michael Clark on his way to club championship honours.

Meanwhile Grant Chisholm proved too strong for his small field of rivals in the limited sprintcar ranks, powering to victory in one heat race and the 10-lap feature race on his way to edging out Shayne Langdon and Paul Belfield for coveted first place sash.

The club’s next meeting will be held over the Easter weekend featuring the Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans and the inaugural Street Stock rumble on March 26 and 27.