NEXT MEETING: January 5/6 - Super Sedan State Title, Limited Sprintcars feature, local divisions

Condren the master on his home turf

Albany’s Ryan Condren failed to disappoint in a rare visit to his home race track, driving away to win the 20-lap final in round four of the Wingless Sprints WA country series last Saturday night.

Condren started off the front row of the final and after surrendering the lead early on, fought his way back to slip pass speedy youngster Tom Payet and race away to claim a memorable victory.

“That is really good to get the win tonight,” Condren said post race.

“It makes up for the one we lost last year, it is great to come back and race here…this is the shortest and cheapest trip of my season.”

In an entertaining final around the Attwell Park venue, Condren was slowly reeled in by Brendon Wedge, who slipped past Payet in the concluding stages to finish second while 18-year-old Payet rounded out the podium, who challenged Wedge right on the line in the final lap had to be content with third.

Last years feature race winner Daniel Coleman blasted his way through the field, after starting on the second last row, to finish fourth while Scott Elst completed the top five.

Earlier Condren and Payet both won two preliminary heat races while the other two preliminaries went to Michael Keen and Elst.

The meeting also doubled as the annual street stock feature, which attracted 18 cars but Albany’s Clint Udecz was simply too good in the 25-lap feature race, defeating Tim Coxall and Peter Herbert.

Coxall made his way past Udecz as the laps began to wind down but was racing under protest and when there was a yellow light stoppage for a Paul Bowman spin, Coxall was relegated two positions to third.

Udecz led the restart away with just two laps remaining and did enough to hold out Coxall while Bowman had moved up to third but an error on the final turn relegated him to fourth as Herbert pounced to finish on the podium.

Youngster Michael Herbert did enough to survive the second small car demo derby, and was declared the winner in an event that attracted an astounding 45 starters.