NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo

Flyin' Ryan blasts his way to WSS victory!

Ryan Farrell blasted to his second World Series Sprintcars victory in as many nights, claiming the 30-lap final at Albany’s AttwellPark in round 10 of the championship on Saturday, February 9.

After completely dominating round nine of the series in Manjimup on Friday night, the WA hard charger was simply too good for his rivals 24 hours later, beating home South Australian youngster Daniel Pestka and American Tim Kaeding.

On a fast but dusty surface at Attwell Park, passing was at a premium in the final but Farrell, who qualified on the front row alongside Kaeding, got a dream start and was never headed during the distance.

The victory further adds to Farrell’s dominant season in the west in the Diamond Bay Motorsports No.26 machine.

“It is absolutely awesome, we are just having an awesome season,” Farrell said.

“We are nine wins from 11 starts, I am just so proud of my guys.”

Farrell, who last year in the Albany round of WSS finished second last driving for Halls Motorsport, qualified fifth in time trials, made good progress in both his heat races and led every lap of the championship final this time around.

“The boys are giving me a great car, the conditions were tricky but it was a great race, credit to Albany speedway who kept at the track all night,” the 38-year-old said.

“This time last year I was not having a good run, I was nearly suicidal.”

“I was really struggling in the car but this year has been a massive turnaround.”

Pestka recorded a career-best WSS finish after coming from sixth position on the grid to scorch to the podium.

“Pete (Caporn) gave me a good enough car on the bottom,” the 21-year-old said.

“As the race went on we got better and better.”

Tempers flared between American’s Kaeding and Shane Stewart after the pair came together mid-race, Kaeding moved up the race track to get around a lapped car just as Stewart was trying the same move on the same peice of dirt.

The pair made contact with Stewart spinning and losing a number of spots before recovering to finish fifth, the duo venting their frustrations with each other post race in a heated argument.

Meanwhile, Katanning sensation Kye Blight has stamped his claims for the WA Modified Sedan Title at Attwell Park Speedway in Albany next month with a clinical display in round seven of the GWN7 Big Rock Toyota WA Modified Sedans Series on the same night.

Blight survived the 20-lap final and crossed the line a clear winner over Steve Beres and Nuno Mendes in feature race that was overshadowed by a nasty opening lap crash at the Albany venue.

The State title aspirations of front runners Brendan Selleck, Jason Pearce and Aydan Trewern suffered a blow after the trio were involved in a seven-car pile up in turn one of the Attwell Park on the very first lap of the decider.

Selleck, who started off the front row alongside Blight, made contact with the series leader just metres into race with Selleck coming off worse for wear, spinning in front of a hard charging field.

Trewern, Jason Pearce and Barry Hall made heavy contact with the stationary Selleck while Kim Williams, John Purser and Miranda Ball were also involved.

Trewern suffering major structural front end damage and retired from the event along with Hall who was airborne upon impact and a clearly frustrated Pearce while Williams also joined them on the infield.

Blight led the complete restart away in a depleted field and despite a brief Matt Kata challenge where he pinched the lead, scored back-to-back round victories after his round six triumph in Narrogin.

However Blight’s State title chances may have also taken a hit with the No.71 machine slowing in the closing stages with a possible engine issue.

Calon Ball, John Purser, Lindsay McAuley, Jeff Steele, Neville Mansted and Sam McAuley rounded out the nine finishers.

Earlier Blight and Selleck won two preliminary heat races each the other prelimaries going to Purser, Trevor Knox, Trewern, Kata and Pearce while Selleck won the top six shootout to start from pole.