NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo

Another quality Bill Gibbings Memorial ahead this weekend

Speedway fans will enjoy an action-packed Easter feast of racing at Attwell Park Speedway this weekend with the 11th running of the Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans.

A host of the State’s best super sedan pilots will tackle the Attwell Park clay as they attempt to add their name to the prestigious shield honouring the late Bill Gibbings, a former Albany Speedway Club president and life member.

Gibbings was a much-loved a valued member of the local club, a fierce but fair competitor and a dedicated clubman before passing away in 2001.

Since then Albany has held the Bill Gibbings Memorial in his honour, the crown going to the highest point-scorer across the super sedan division at the annual two-night Easter meeting.

This year’s format will see four qualifying heats run on Saturday evening and a further three heats on Sunday night before the all-important and gruelling 50-lap final.

WA gun Marc Giancola has a stranglehold on the Bill Gibbings crown, which he has won on five occasions, including the past three editions.

Giancola will once again be the man everybody will be chasing as his quest for a sixth title begins on Saturday night but the experienced driver will face stiff opposition from the likes of Gary and Dustin Higgs, Kemble Aylett, Bert Vosbergen, Frank Does and Dean Shore just to name a few.

Aylett won the title in 2006-07 while Does won his crown back in 2002-03 however both will be distance memories when the title goes on the line this weekend.

Aylett and Does are expected to major players in the 2012-13 title along with Kalgoorlie’s DeanShore who finished third behind Giancola and Gary Higgs last year after an impressive run.

Vosbergen has been close to a victory in this event a number of occasions and despite not starting last years final finished fourth while local competitor Chris Pavlovich will be eager to better his fifth in the overall standings last year.

A full program of support divisions including modified sedans, street stocks, junior sedans, production sedans and formula 125’s will be run on both nights.


Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 6pm on both Saturday and Sunday, Adults $20 and Kids $10 entry.



2001-02 Michael Nicola (Vic)

2002-03 Frank Does (WA)

2003-04 Marc Giancola (WA)

2004-05 Marc Giancola (WA)

2005-06 Frank Does (WA)

2006-07 Kemble Aylett (WA)

2007-08 Ash Bergmeier (Vic)

2008-09 Keith Higgs (WA)

2009-10 Marc Giancola (WA)

2010-11 Marc Giancola (WA)

2011-12 Marc Giancola (WA)