NEXT MEETING: January 5/6 - Super Sedan State Title, Limited Sprintcars feature, local divisions

Dustin Higgs claims first Bill Gibbings Memorial

Hard charger Dustin Higgs won his first Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans in sensational fashion, blasting around the top of Attwell Park speedway inches from the concrete fence to claim the 50-lap final and the 2012-13 crown on Easter Sunday.

Heading into the gruelling feature race, Higgs and five-time Bill Gibbings Memorial winner Marc Giancola both sat on 187 points with Gary Higgs 14 points behind the pair in third position.

Despite an early wrestle with Giancola for the lead, Higgs surged ahead to record his first victory in the event from Gary Higgs and Giancola.

The victory handed Higgs 36 points, enough for him to prevail in the Bill Gibbings Memorial, awarded to the highest point scorer in the super sedan class across the two nights of competition.

Post-race, Higgs dedicated the memorial victory to his ill mother Karen.

“I am dedicating that win to mum, she was in intensive care,” the 23-year-old said.

“Winning a memorial race and dedicating it to a family member just makes you drive that little bit extra to win.”

Higgs led for 49 laps of the final and wowed the appreciative crowd on hand with his aggressive driving style up on the high line.

“That is one of the most electric race tracks, it was pretty demanding,” Higgs said.

“I was just waiting for the white flag to come.

“On the first lap I had to get the lead and I drove it at 120 per cent from there.”

The Higgs duo and Giancola passed cars at will in the final, with heavy lap traffic forcing the leading three cars to drive up on the fence and spear around the Albany bullring at a frenetic pace.

Gary Higgs began to close the gap on his son in the final 15 laps of the main event, but was thrilled to finish one-two, while Giancola got tangled up with Dustin Higgs early on and said the damage sustained derailed his chances, as he hung on to claim third ahead of Ben Holland.

Dustin Higgs, who lapped every car in the final apart from the first four, finished with 223 points, winning the memorial from Giancola (210 points) and Gary Higgs (201) while Mt Barker’s Chris Pavlovich (134) finished fourth.


2001-02 Michael Nicola (Vic)

2002-03 Frank Does (WA)

2003-04 Marc Giancola (WA)

2004-05 Marc Giancola (WA)

2005-06 Frank Does (WA)

2006-07 Kemble Aylett (WA)

2007-08 Ash Bergmeier (Vic)

2008-09 Keith Higgs (WA)

2009-10 Marc Giancola (WA)

2010-11 Marc Giancola (WA)

2011-12 Marc Giancola (WA)

2012-13 Dustin Higgs (WA)