NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo

Trewern reigns supreme after Blight crashes out

Albany’s Aydan Trewern firmed as a strong contender for the upcoming Australian Modified Sedan Title with his win in round 6 of the WA Modified Sedans Series at Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Trewern started off pole position in the 20-lap final courtesy of winning the top six shootout but the local was quickly shuffled back to third by hard-charging pair Kye Blight and Jason Pearce.

Kye Blight, the current WA champion, powered to the lead on the first lap, where he would stay until a broken water pump sprayed water on his rear tyres forcing him to crash into the concrete fence on lap 15.

Trewern had managed to pass Pearce for second spot before Kye Blight’s barnstorming run up front came to an abrupt end, and he inherited the lead on the restart.

Trewern held off the advances of Pearce and rookie driver Jake Blight in the remaining laps to claim his second round of the series.

Clint Noakes finished fourth ahead of Allan Mortimer and Albany trio George Beres, Neville Bylund and Miranda Ball.

Matt Noakes was forced to retired with a flat tyre in the early stages of the final after starting from position four on the grid and was joined on the infield by local Laurie Dowsett, who was debuting his brand new car.

Earlier in the event Trewern and Pearce were the only drivers to score two heat race victories while Adam Houston, Kye Blight, Clint Noakes, Graeme McSweeney and Jake Blight all won a preliminary heat race each.

Local competitor Sean Theyer will have plenty of work ahead of him after a nasty crash with the turn two wall during heat seven ended his night.

Albany will host the upcoming national title for modified sedans on Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday with Trewern’s victory confirmed he is a strong contender for the national crown.

Darren Cartwright (formula 125s), Paul Colmer (street stocks), Michael Bocian (junior sedans) and Gary Pow (formula sprintcars) were the overall winners in the support divisions.