NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo

Cartwright clinches fifth WA title

Darren Cartwright won his fifth WA formula 125 State title after dominating proceedings at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on March 22.

The Perth-based competitor won two of his three qualifying heat races, to help him earn pole position for the 15-lap title decider.

Cartwright bounded to the lead in the first corner and from there he was never headed, extending his lead as the race wore on to eventually down Albany duo Jacinta Tester and Chris Pittaway.

Jamie Tester and veteran racer Bill Beeck rounded out the top five in the State title.

Cartwright won four consecutive State crowns from the 2007-08 season to 2010-11 and has also previously won an Australian title in 2009-10.

Dominant local drivers Sam and Braiden Jewell could both not compete on the weekend, with Tester driving Sam Jewell’s car for the event.

The female racer was the only driver to defeat Cartwright in the State title, after she zipped away to win heat three over the eventual champion.

The night doubled as the open championships for the formula 125s, street stocks and modified sedans.

Paul Bowman was brilliant in the street stock division, clearing out for a dominant win in the final over Peter Herbert and Clint Udecz.

In the hotly-contested modified sedan ranks, Albany’s Neville Bylund who only recently returned to the driver’s seat won a thrilling open championship from Sean Theyer and George Beres.

In the other support divisions Gary Pow claimed the formula sprintcars and Michael Bocian was undefeated in the junior sedan class.

To complete the programme, the Albany Speedway Club held their popular small car demo derby with Brad Connelly in his ford laser the last car standing from a field of 33 cars, Shirley Saunders won the best presented title.