NEXT MEETING: January 5/6 - Super Sedan State Title, Limited Sprintcars feature, local divisions

Raymont's brilliant start in Albany

Australian champion Aidan Raymont leads the way after night one of the Australian Modified Sedan Title here at Attwell Park Speedway in Albany.

Raymont was brilliant in his three qualifying heats, blasting his way to victory and remaining undefeated ahead of the final night of competition.

The defending champion leads the point's standings with 108 points in his attempt to become only the fourth driver in history to win back-to-back national modified crowns.

Mark Carlin and Aydan Trewern were the other dominant drivers in the three rounds completed last night, the pair tied on 100 points with one round of qualifying heats remaining.

Carlin who won his maiden national title at this very venue, won the first heat of the title in stunning fashion as he came from position 10 to down fellow Victorian Martin Hawson by 0.036 seconds.

Trewern, an Albany local, was the best of the WA chances with two impressive heat race victories and a narrow second to fellow local member Laurie Dowsett in heat 9.

Interstate drivers Greg Worling (95 points) and Rodney Pammenter (92) round out the top five on points after the first 15 heats of the event.

The final 5 heats will be run tonight along with the C-main, B-main and A-main title decider while the marathon 50-lap final for Super Sedans will help decide the Bill Gibbings Memorial.

Racing starts at 6pm with gates open at 3pm this afternoon.

Full results can be found hereĀ


A1Aidan Raymont108
2V42Mark Carlin100
3W12Aydan Trewern100
4N33Greg Worling95
5Q28Rodney Pammenter92
6W57Mick Hamon87
7W23Clint Noakes87
8W14Laurie Dowsett82
9V72Martin Hawson81
10W22Jason Pearce74
11Q37Todd Doyle64
12W21Matt Noakes64
13W29Lindsay McAuley61
14V69Daniel Drewett55
15W19Neville Bylund54
16Q49Brett Barron53
17W17Matthew Kata48
18W77Steve Beres46
19V25Christopher Hayden46
20Q10Gavin Lorensen45
21V15David Smith43
22V81Rodney Burr43
23Q44Glenn Pagel40
24W18Adam Houston40
25W83Sam McAuley39
26Q32Nathan Macdonald38
27Q78Peter Gray37
28N62Trevor Mills36
29W91Jeff Steele35
30Q66Ross Bullimore34
31W13Barry Hall34
32Q27Shane Macdonald33
33W8Calon Ball33
34W74Allan Mortimer26
35Q93Jason Beer24
36Q2Allan Nash24
37W47Peter Fraser24
38W11Sean Theyer23
39V3David Dolic19
40N36David Jacobi18
41W4Miranda Ball17
42W71Kye Blight17
43Q6Bradley Stein16
44W9John Purser16
45W46Jason Batchelor12
46W61Jake Blight10

Australian champion Aidan Raymont in action at Attwell Park Speedway.