NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo


Victorian Mark Carlin has repeated history by winning his second Australian Modified Sedan Title in clinical fashion at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Sunday night, the same venue he clinched his maiden crown five years earlier.

Carlin was unstoppable in the 40-lap championship final, starting from pole position and leading every lap on his way to defeating defending champion Aidan Raymont by 1.733 seconds.

WA champion Kye Blight stormed home to finished third after starting from last position in the 20-car field while Albany’s Laurie Dowsett achieved a career-best result with his fourth-placed finish.

Having won his first national title here in Albany in 2008-09, Carlin enjoyed a brilliant weekend and it all began in the very first heat of the championship where he was able to come from the back of the field to down fellow Victorian Martin Hawson by a narrow 0.036 seconds.

Carlin was absolutely dominant in the final and recorded a stunning lap time on just the second circuit with a 16.645 which was by far the quickest of the entire event.

The 33-year-old became the seventh driver in the 40-year history of the title to win more than once and said he was delighted with the result.

“I am definitely happy,” he said.

“I would say this title is better that the first one.

“We knew we had a pretty good car coming over here, everything just fell into place and not a thing went wrong all weekend.”

Carlin won three of his four qualifying heat races, with only relegation in heat eight preventing a perfect weekend of racing.

Raymont was undefeated after the first three rounds of heat racing on Saturday night and went down by a mere 0.109 seconds in his final heat to finish tied on points with Carlin.

In the final, Raymont tried desperately to reel in Carlin after letting him get the jump off the start but he had to be content with second in a race that was run at a frenetic pace.

Blight won the C-main to earn a place in the B-main where he blasted his way to fourth spot and gained the final transfer spot into the title decider.

Blight moved into third spot when Albany’s Aydan Trewern was forced to retire with a slowing and smoking car with three laps left to run.

Queenslanders Rodney Pammenter and Brett Barron had an exciting dual in the closing stages with the later edging out Pammenter for fifth.

Eight cars failed to finish the A-main which was run with a constant threat of rain above.

Thousands of spectators filed through the gates over the two nights of competition to see Attwell Park host the title for fifth time.