NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo


In excess of 50 drivers will attend Albany Speedway Club’s opening meeting of their 50th anniversary season, which kicks off this Saturday night at Attwell Park Speedway.

The first meeting of the season will feature the prestigious Noel Pearson Memorial, an annual award won by the highest point scoring local club member from any division running on the night.

The memorial which has been running since the 1989-1990 season, will again be hotly contested in 2014-15 with a quality field of local peddlers all eyeing the prize including last year’s winner Sam Jewell.

In total 61 nominations across seven different divisions were received for the club’s opening night which will conclude with the ever-popular Small Car Demo Derby.

Jewell is among 10 drivers who will do battle in the formula 125 ranks while the biggest field to take part on Saturday night will be the street stocks, which have attracted a class line-up of 21 cars.

Experienced competitors Paul Colmer, Clint Udecz, Peter Herbert and Shane Devonshire are among the list of nominations and will be joined by former junior sedans star Jordan McDonald and ex-modified sedans pilot Michael Clark.

With this season’s WA Production Sedan Title being held in Albany on April 4 and 5, there will be plenty of attention on the production sedans in action at Attwell Park this season in the lead-up.

A field of nine drivers have nominated for Saturday’s opener including multiple national and State champion Ron Belfield and former resident Nathan Penn.

There will be a new wave of junior sedan drivers on show at Attwell Park this season and the field of six this Saturday includes Brooke Watson, daughter of former sedan star Wayne Watson, along with strong competitors Jarrin Bielby and Jamie Higgs.

Limited Sprintcars will also race at the season opener with eight cars nomination including locals Paul Belfield and father-son combination Shayne and Leon Langdon.

A field of five super sedans will also take to the track and two modified sedans have entered including former junior sedan star Blake Watson.

Gates open at 4pm and racing kicks off at 6pm this Saturday as the club commences their 50th anniversary celebrations.

Reminder to all drivers that you need to mount your transponders before racing and the pit gates will open at 3pm.

Noel Pearson Memorial nominations:

Formula 125s – 10

2 Phil Cockayne

22 Brenton Cockayne

27 Chris Pittaway

29 Brandon Tester

63 Ron Pittaway

37 Sam Jewell

66 Michael Deworboies

69 Murray Pollett

82 Craig Tester

83 Jacinta Tester

Street Stocks - 21

00 Paul Colmer

24 Jordan McDonald

26 Michael Clark

27 Mark Dohnt

29 Lachlan Marcus

39 Jermain Bielby

44 Peter Herbert

45 Brad Pierce

47 Wayne Hall

47 Ashlei Seers

52 Paul Bowman

55 Brad Carroll

57 Jamie Keys

66 Clint Udecz

92 Shane Devonshire

99 Liana & Jenna Freeland

119 Peter Bassett

124 Barry Roberts

318 Freddy Kinsella

777 Myra Oborne

Tracey Saunders

Modified Sedans - 2

4 Miranda Ball

75 Blake Watson

Limited Sprintcars - 8

13 Cameron McCabe

14 Gary Pow

31 Ross Smith

53 Shayne Langdon

69 Laurie Simonds

75 Paul Belfield

92 Shannon Bins

121 Leon Langdon

Junior Sedans - 6

14 Brooke Watson

16 Mitch Killeen

26 Taia Green

39 Jarrin Bielby

49 Bianca Kennedy

84 Jamie Higgs

Super Sedans - 5

3 Colin Knox

33 Graham Wake

69 Nathan Masson

72 Paul Oakley

91 Warren Hambley

Production Sedans - 9

2 Merv Penn

11 Michael Bocian

26 Andrew Tregoning

36 Keith Kinnear

57 Nathan Penn

61 Ron Belfield

69 Rob Wolfenden

86 Wayne Leviston

Brodie Coleman