NEXT MEETING: December 9 - Opening Meeting, Noel Pearson Memorial, Wingless Sprints 50 lapper, all divisions,
Small Car Demo

Dominant Jewell claims back-to-back Noel Pearson Memorial titles

Formula 125 star Sam Jewell claimed back-to-back Noel Pearson Memorial titles after another dominant display on the opening night of the Albany Speedway Club season on Saturday night.

Jewell, who won the prestigous crown last season after going through the opening meeting undefeated, repeated the does again with four wins from as many races to finish with a maximum 144 points and win the 2014-15 Noel Pearson Memorial.

The memorial which is contested at the first meeting of the Attwell Park season was again a close battle with Jewell (144 points) just edging out fellow club members Ron Belfield (136) and Clint Udecz (121) in a terrific night of racing.

Jewell topped theĀ overall formula 125 standings with his four victories, Craig Tester (96) was second ahead of Jacinta Tester (84).

In the production sedans Belfield has just one blemish in his evening after winning the first two races and the 15-lap final but came second to Nathan Penn in the third event.

Belfield (136) defeated visitor Andrew Tregoning (92), Keith Kinnear (84), Merv Penn (67) and Nathan Penn (62) in the overall production sedan standings, ahead of the upcoming WA Production Sedan Title which Albany will host over the Easter long weekend in 2015.

After finishing third in the memorial standings, Udecz topped his street stock division with 121 points to down Shane Devonshire (115), Paul Bowman (92) and Peter Herbert (84).

Jarrin Bielby won the junior sedans category overall despite not finishing the final, Bielby finished with 125 points to hold out Jamie Higgs (120) and Brooke Watson (97).

Gary Pow won three of the four limited sprintcar events to finish victorious overall on 136 points, Paul Belfield was second on 115 and Shayne Langdon filled third with 91 points.

Colin Knox proved too good for Nathan Masson and Paul Oakley in the super sedan ranks and Jason Wooning was the winner of the entertaining small car demo derby held at the conclusion of the opening meeting.

Full results of the meeting can be found at

A big thanks to all the spectators and drivers who turned up to witness and race at the opening meeting of the new season, your support is appreciated.

The next Albany Speedway Club meet will be held on Saturday, November 22 headlined by the formula 125 feature.

Sam Jewell raced to back-to-back Noel Pearson Memorial wins on Saturday night. Picture: Jody Shanhun