NEXT MEETING: January 5/6 - Super Sedan State Title, Limited Sprintcars feature, local divisions


Bright young talent Kaiden Manders blasted his way to an impressive victory in round 3 of the Speedcar Grand Prix Series at Albany’s Attwell Park on Saturday night.

Manders, one of Australia’s most promising speedcar drivers, started from the back row of the 30-lap feature race alongside Dayne Kingshott who through the time trials and heat races had collected the most points.

As the highest point scorer Kingshott elected for Manders to start at the rear of the field with him but the pair quickly began to weave their way through the small field.

Chris Griffiths led the early stages of the race before he spun after six laps with Todd Waddell making contact and rolling over in pits bend.

Waddell’s car was put back on its wheels and remarkably he re-joined the race with Griffiths retiring to the infield as Manders inherited the lead of the race.

From there the young gun was never headed, surviving two restarts on lap 9 and 19 to eventually cross the line 3.098 seconds ahead of Lee Redmond.

Kingshott appeared the only driver likely to challenge Kingshott for the feature race win and was running strongly in second when he spun by himself with 11 laps remaining and as a result went to the rear of the field at the restart.

However Kingshott was able to blast back through the field and claim third with Nick Rowe and Chris Telenta rounding out the top five while Waddell finally succumbed to the infield after 23 laps in his wounded car. 

Albany’s Ryan Condren failed to finish the final after a flat tyre ended his night just 9 laps in.

Earlier Kingshott set the quickest lap in time trials with a 14.762 second circuit before he and Manders won two heat races each.

The formula 125 feature was also held on the night with Perth driver Darren Cartwright prevailing in the 10 lap final over Albany’s Bill Beeck and Sam Jewell.

Cartwright started off the front row and led the entire journey to down veteran competitor Beeck by 2.157 seconds.

Earlier Cartwright claimed three heat race wins, Beeck won two and the other preliminary went to Craig Tester in spectacular fashion.

Tester was leading the opening heat when he rolled several times in the main straight, causing extensive damage to his machine.

The race was declared giving Tester the win and he was able to walk away from the nasty crash.

Support divisions put on some terrific action throughout the evening also.

Full results from the night can be found at this link





Attwell Park will play host to round 3 of the WA Speedcar Drivers Association Sheehan Haulage Speedcar Grand Prix Series this Saturday night!

This promises to be a massive event with a quality field of speedcars nominated to tackle the Albany clay for round honours.

In a further boost to the meeting, the speedcars final will be run over a massive 50-laps to conclude proceedings.

Star WA drivers Kaiden Manders, Todd Waddell, Dayne Kingshott and Lee Redmond headline the driver entries.

Full support divisions will also be on the program.

Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 6pm.

Entry Prices:

$50 Family (2 Adults & 3 Children)
$20 Adult
$10 Child (5-16) & Aged Pensioner

Speedcar Grand Prix Series nominations:

W7 Todd Waddell

W19 Steven Henderson

W21 Kaiden Manders

W22 Chris Telenta

W25 Jack Alfirevich

W26 Dayne Kingshott

W28 Ryan Condren

W40 Chris Griffiths

W41 Jason Tremeer

W42 Phil Tremeer

W52 Lee Redmond

W97 Nick Rowe

Pittard tames Attwell Park to claim Wingless Sprints feature

Bunbury driver Ash Pittard has blasted his way to opening round honours in the Wingless Sprints WA country series held at Albany’s Attwell Park on Saturday night.

Pittard started from pole position in the 25-lap feature race and was never headed despite several challenges during the distance.

There was one restart in the race after the race stopped with 16 laps remaining but Pittard again pulled away from his rivals.

From that point on Pittard negated his way through heavy lap traffic late in the race to score victory by 3.329 seconds.

Brendon Wedge closed the gap on Pittard several times but was never able to get close enough to pass for the lead and finished second while Rick Iwanow charged from sixth place to cross the line in third place.

WA champion Tom Payet filled fourth place while Tyson Bryden rounded out the top five.

Bryden was super impressive during the heat races, with his win in heat 3 over Pittard and Iwanow one of the best performances of the evening, but after starting on the front row of the final he fell back through the pack.

After the race was completed Bryden made contact with another car and rolled over in turn two but was thankfully okay.

Brad Fitzgerald ended a consistent night in sixth place, Kyle Beard crossed the line in seventh ahead of Brad Taylor, Mitchell White and Travis Southwell.

The other drivers to finish the journey were Dylan O’Connor, Chris Barrie, Blair Goodall and Kyle Cutts.

Justin Wragg (19 laps), Russell Seery (16) and Tim Zapantis (14) were the non-finishers while Sam Borlini failed to make it out for the feature race.

Earlier in the night the heat races were shared between Fitzgerald, Pittard, Bryden, Beard, Wedge and Payet.

As a result of his second placing in the feature race, Wedge now leads the Wingless Sprints championship series and Payet is the country series leader after one round.

Wingless Sprints ready to roar in Albany

Attwell Park Speedway is gearing up for another action-packed night of racing this Saturday with the fast and ferocious Wingless Sprints headlining the third meeting of the 2015-16 season!

Race fans are in for a treat with the Small Car Demo Derby, Burnouts plus quality fields of support divisions that will contest the prestigious Noel Pearson Memorial also on the program.

The Wingless Sprints will contest the opening round of their country series and an impressive field has entered including excitement machine and current WA champion Tom Payet, in-form driver Kyle Beard along with Daniel Coleman, Brendon Wedge, Travis Southwell and Rick Iwanow among others.

More than 20 cars are nominated for the crowd pulling crash and bash Small Car Demo Derby event, which will conclude the night's proceedings.

Gates open at 4pm on Saturday with racing kicking off at 6pm.

Entry Prices:
$50 Family (2 adults & 3 children)
$20 Adult
$10 Children (5-16) & Aged Pensioner

Wingless Sprints - 19

WA1 Tom Payet

W3 Rick Iwanow

W16 Sam Borlini

W17 Brad Taylor

W18 Tyson Bryden

W24 Daniel Coleman

W29 Ash Pittard

W30 Jamie Harris

W32 Kyle Cutts

W35 Tim Zapantis

W39 Travis Southwell

W40 Justin Wragg

W42 Mitchell White

W46 Dylan O’Connor

W56 Brendon Wedge

W57 Kyle Beard

W94 Warren Hunter

W96 Brad Fitzgerald

W97 Russell Seery

Street Stocks - 10

W10 Tracey Saunders

W28 Tim Coxall

W31 Cody Avins

W44 Peter Herbert

W52 Paul Bowman

W57 Jamie Keys

W92 Shane Devonshire

W93 Paul Devonshire

W121 Leon Langdon

W318 Freddy Kinsella

Limited Sprintcars - 6

W14 Gary Pow

W33 Grant Chisholm

W53 Shayne Langdon

W64 Paul Flint

W68 Jamie Langdon

W74 Paul Belfield

Modified Sedans - 5

W2 Branden Fraser

W4 Miranda Ball

W11 Sean Theyer

W13 Barry Hall

W77 Steve Beres

Production Sedans - 4

W13 Shane Davis

W27 Mike Kinnear

W57 Nathan Penn

W69 Robert Wolfenden

Junior Sedans - 7

W2 Alex Fraser

W18 Hayden Mortimer

W23 Hope Batchelor

W42 Nui Andrews

W49 Bianca Kennedy

W88 Izzac Delaporte

W102 Mitchell Claybrook

Formula 125s - 16

W1 Braiden Jewell

W7 Darren Cartwright

W9 Karen Tester

W17 Phillip Lockyer

W22 Brenton Cockayne

W27 Chris Pittaway

W28 Nathen Tester

W37 Sam Jewell

W38 Bill Beeck

W55 Sam Haythornthwaite

W63 Ron Pittaway

W66 Michael Deworboies

W67 Graeme Pollett

W69 Murray Pollett

W82 Craig Tester

W83 Jacinta Tester