NEXT MEETING: January 5/6 - Super Sedan State Title, Limited Sprintcars feature, local divisions

Nominations for this Saturday's meeting

Reminder to nominate before tonight at midnight to avoid being a late nomination.
Below are the current nominations for this Saturday night.
Reminder to all drivers you MUST nominate via our website, simply click on this link and fill out the online form.

360 Sprintcars – 11 
W4 Kent Roberts
W5 David Hall
W9 AJ Nash
W12 Ray Leonard
W15 Michael Keen
W30 Jamie Landrigan
W48 Murray Iwanow
W60 Kaiden Manders
W64 Paul Peet
W83 Troy Lawson
W90 Daniel Keen

Super Sedans – 7
W8 Chris Pavlovich 
W12 Jarrin Bielby
W30 Peter Wallinger 
W63 Tony St Jack 
W69 Nathan Masson 
W77 Kodee Brown 
W127 Luke O’Hanlon

Production Sedans – 7
W5 Ryan Penn 
W13 Shane Davis 
W27 Mike Kinnear 
W61 Ron Belfield 
W69 Rob Wolfenden 
W91 Blane Devonshire 
W92 Shane Devonshire

Junior Sedans – 2
W18 Hayden Mortimer 
W49 Bianca Kennedy

Formula 125s – 10
W1 Sam Jewell 
 W13 Braiden Jewell 
W24 Darren Smith 
W27 Chris Pittaway 
W28 Nathen Tester
W29 Brandon Tester 
W38 Bill Beeck 
W63 Ron Pittaway 
W82 Craig Tester 
W83 Jacinta Tester

Street Stocks – 2
W21 Trent Claybrook
W44 Peter Herbert

Blight sweeps to epic Albany victory

Katanning's Kye Blight closed the gap on his rivals in the Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series standings after claiming a popular win in round 9 at a brilliantly resurfaced Attwell Park Speedway in Albany last Saturday night.

After months of issues with the track surface and dust problems during races, Albany Speedway Club made the bold decision to re-shape the 440m venue, remove the existing clay, and replace it with new material.

The decision worked wonders as two and three-wide racing was seen right across the late model division throughout the night and allowed Blight to display all his skill, powering around the top of the track in his feature race success.

Kye Blight on his way to victory in round 9 of the Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series. Pictures: Jody Shanhun

Kye Blight on his way to victory in round 9 of the Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series. Picture: Jody Shanhun

Starting from the front row in the 30-lap final, Blight was relegated to second by State champion Jamie Oldfield, but only for a short time.

Jamie Oldfield pulled infield and retired after four laps because of a spark-plug issue as Blight inherited the lead and went about producing a masterful display en route to his second feature race win in the series.

With only one restart on lap six when David Nylander spun, the race was run at a frenetic pace and Blight diced his way between lap traffic on the encouraging surface.

He crossed the line 5.727 seconds ahead of Warren Oldfield, while Lee Watt impressed to take third place.

Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series round 9 podium, Warren Oldfield (second), Kye Blight (first) and Lee Watt (third).

Maxima Racing Oils Pro Dirt Series round 9 podium, Warren Oldfield (second), Kye Blight (first) and Lee Watt (third). Picture: Jody Shanhun

That pair started from positions eight and six respectively and charged through the field as Brad Blake and Jay Cardy, who both started from the second row, slipped back through the field, while Matt Goodlad finished fourth and Blake hung on for fifth.

Blight’s elation was clear as he jumped onto the roof of his car with the chequered flag to celebrate the win, and he praised the club and track curators post-race for a perfect new race surface.

Jamie Oldfield on the inside of Marc Giancola.

Jamie Oldfield on the inside of Marc Giancola. Picture: Jody Shanhun

In the process, Blight closed the gap to series points leader Jamie Oldfield and the second-placed Blake.

The young gun has 775 points to his name with three rounds remaining, sitting behind leader Jamie Oldfield (804 points) and Blake (803).

Late model sedan action in Albany on Saturday night.

Late model sedan action in Albany on Saturday night. Picture: Jody Shanhun

Earlier, the three heat races were won by Jamie Oldfield, Cardy and Blight. In the support divisions, Brooke Watson went undefeated in the junior sedans, Ron Belfield won the production sedans, Blake Watson topped the modified sedan points, and Sam Jewell, courtesy of his feature race win, held off Jacinta Tester by five points in the formula 125s.

Quality field assembled for Late Model round

A terrific field will contest round 9 of the Maxima Racing Oils Late Model Pro Dirt Series in Albany this Saturday night, headlined by WA champion Jamie Oldfield.

Jamie Oldfield won his second WA title back in January and will venture to Attwell Park Speedway for a second time this season after a round of the USA Late Model Invasion Tour was held here also in January.

A total of 13 nominations have been received for this Saturday night's latest round of the series which includes Michael Holmes, who finished on the podium in the recent State title and Katanning hard-charger Kye Blight.

Former State and national champion Brad Blake is also among the nominations along with Paul Stubber, who was on the podium here in Albany earlier this season, Marc Giancola and Veronica McCann.

Runner-up in this season's WA title, Warren Oldfield is a strong chance to also join the field before racing gets underway.

New clay has been laid on the Attwell Park surface this week, in readiness for this weekend.

Gates open at 4pm with racing from 6pm this Saturday night.

Support divisions include junior sedans, formula 125s, production sedans and modified sedans.

Late Models – 13

W0 Brad Blake

W6 James Batley

W10 Lee Watt

W18 Matt Goodlad

W31 Paul Stubber

W38 Jai Mazzini

W41 Kye Blight

W43 Marc Giancola

W50 Veronica McCann

W51 Jamie Oldfield

W52 Jay Cardy

W54 David Nylander

W91 Michael Holmes

Late Models return to Albany once again!

Late Models will return to Attwell Park Speedway for the second time this season next Saturday night, March 11 when round 9 of the Late Model Pro Dirt Series comes to a newly resurfaced venue.

A host of WA's leading drivers will converge on Albany for the latest round of the competitive series, after the division visited Attwell Park back in January as part of the USA Late Model Invasion Tour.

A full list of support divisions are also expected on be on the program with nominations open until midnight, Wednesday March 8.

Divisions must have five cars to constitute a field and any nominations received for support divisions after that will start rear of field in heat races.

To nominate drivers simply click on this link and fill out the online form

Public gates open at 4pm
Racing starts at 6pm

Entry Prices:
$25 Adults
$15 Children (5-16) & Aged Pensioners
$55 Family (2 Adults & 3 Children)

Current nominations for Saturday, March 11:

Junior Sedans – 5

W18 Hayden Mortimer

W23 Hope Batchelor

W37 Brooke Watson

W42 Nui Andrews

W49 Bianca Kennedy

Formula 125s – 10

W1 Sam Jewell

W13 Braiden Jewell

W24 Darren Smith 

W27 Chris Pittaway

W28 Nathen Tester

W29 Brandon Tester  

W38 Bill Beeck

W63 Ron Pittaway

W82 Craig Tester

W83 Jacinta Tester

Production Sedans – 4

W2 Merv Penn

W5 Ryan Penn 

W91 Blane Devonshire

W92 Shane Devonshire

Modified Sedans – 4

W4 Miranda Ball

W12 Aydan Trewern

W75 Blake Watson

W77 Steve Beres